talkFestool  

Go Back   talkFestool > Projects, Methods, and Techniques > Woodworking Projects

Woodworking Projects Chairs to chests, boxes to breadboards? Stop in!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2015, 09:18 PM

Default My first 2015 project

I've been turning for a couple years -- mostly pens, and then other to various spindle turnings. I bought a bowl gouge last year, unhandled, so no bowl projects since I bought it. I/m determined to try my hand at bowls this year.

This handle is maple, with several green veneers laminated into the blank for fun. I needed a bit more length, so I added a walnut cap on the front end. Finally I turned the walnut cap with a tenon so I could add a brass compression nut. This was a heavy hex sided nut, but I turned it to smooth it to a round profile.

The finish is just a simple wipe on butcher block finish.
Attached Thumbnails
my-first-2015-project-bowl-gouge1.jpg   my-first-2015-project-bowl-gouge2.jpg  
Old 01-04-2015, 09:30 PM
Super Moderator

Location: Grew up in Peekskill, NY; Now living in Northwest Kansas

Nice start for the year! So a bowl is next?

"If you have good manners and are well spoken, you can be welcome anywhere." -Mom, 1959
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 01-04-2015, 09:57 PM

Default Re: My first 2015 project

That is beautiful. How did you attach the walnut, just end glued or did you put some sort of internal support? Please tell more about turning the brass. This gives me inspiration.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 01-04-2015, 10:29 PM

The walnut was just glued on, but I did glue side grain to end grain, just figuring that might help a bit. I am not really concerned about strength since the round gouge fit snugly into the bored hole, which goes well into the maple, and it was epoxied in.