talkFestool  

Go Back   talkFestool > Projects, Methods, and Techniques > Woodworking Projects

Woodworking Projects Chairs to chests, boxes to breadboards? Stop in!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2014, 07:33 PM

Default Maloof barstool project

I finished my barstool a couple of weeks ago and just got around to taking a few pics. I have been working on it since September but I was too chicken to post any of the "in progress" pics because of the firewood potential. But I'm happy with it so here it is.
I started two of them at the same time but as soon as I had the first one assembled, I decided to complete it before taking up the second. The second stool is now in the assembled stage and ready for shaping.
The chair is made of walnut and I used the maloof finish from Rockler. I really like that stuff and it was easy to work with. I am fairly new to woodworking and had mostly festools that I had used to build some shop cabinets. This is my first piece of furniture and it did seem a bit ambitious in the beginning. The only large power tools I had was a hammer A3-31 J/P and a Jet bandsaw. A table saw would have been ideal for a lot of the cuts needed but I didn't get one until just recently. For example, the seat required a 3 degree bevel on all of the joining pieces. I attempted to do it with the TS55 but for some reason, the angle seemed to be changing and things weren't matching up well. I ended up using the Hammer A3-31 to put the bevel on the boards and it worked great but getting the width of each board correct was hit and miss. I finally got past that and things turned out ok.
This did turn out to be a lot of fun though and I plan to try a few more Maloof pieces next.
Attached Thumbnails
maloof-barstool-project-1.jpg   maloof-barstool-project-2.jpg   maloof-barstool-project-4.jpg   maloof-barstool-project-8.jpg   maloof-barstool-project-9.jpg  

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!