talkFestool

talkFestool (http://www.talkfestool.com/vb/)
-   Woodworking Projects (http://www.talkfestool.com/vb/woodworking-projects/)
-   -   New here, so posting some projects (http://www.talkfestool.com/vb/woodworking-projects/6325-new-here-so-posting-some-projects.html)

TimberMagic 03-11-2014 05:24 PM

New here, so posting some projects

5 Attachment(s)
Things seem kind of quiet around here, Everyone must be busy working on projects! Since I am new to talkFestool, here are some of my projects.

First, a small, corner china cabinet (maple, purpleheart) I built for my oldest daughter (married with kids). Next one is a step stool (walnut and sassafras) for her. She is barely over 5 feet and was always dragging a chair into the kitchen to get something out of the cupboards.
EDIT: Picture left out, so added as the 5th picture below.

Next is my first Festool track saw project, a dog bowl stand for my younger daughter (no kids, but babies her new dog ...). It is plywood box, with cherry trim on sides and top, and covered with thin cherry MDF, and a tile inset on top. This project really proved how accurately a track saw can cut. All these dimensions were critical to get the numerous pieces to align and fit well.

Next up is a landmark plaque in oak, made for an historic building in Denver that my son-in-law renovated. I'll likely be doing some projects for him throughout the year.

I took up wood turning a couple years ago, and will post some pictures of some of my work -- pens, peppermills, tool handles, in another post.

Paul 03-12-2014 01:25 AM

Re: New here, so posting some projects

Hi Lee - welcome to the group. Your work is obviously well done, I particularly like the purpleheart and maple - nice stripes in the maple grain as well.

You are this accomplished already - just think what you can do after you spend your children's inheritance on Festools! They should love inheriting systainers full of tools instead of envelopes full of cash, don't you think?