talkFestool  

Go Back   talkFestool > Projects, Methods, and Techniques > Woodworking Projects

Woodworking Projects Chairs to chests, boxes to breadboards? Stop in!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2012, 02:00 AM

Default Live edge TV / Entertainment stand

Just completed this TV / Entertainment stand for my daughter. It's my first time working with live edge wood.
The wood was sourced locally at Owl hardwoods in suburban Chicago.

The live edge was prepped with a wire brush in a Festool drill to remove the dirt and grit. This was then followed by hand sanding from 150 up to 600 grit with particular focus on the edges to make sure there was no chance of splinters. I also used a small brass wire brush to get into the areas where the drill brush would not go.

Overall dimensions: 42 w x 15 d x 18 1/2 h This will end up supporting a 40" TV in my daughter's apartment.
Woods: Bubinga and Wenge
Construction: 36 Dominos - 50 x 8mm - 2x per connection x 8 joints per leg + 2 per bottom foot
Finish: Sanded to 600 grit finish + Watco oil x 5 coats + wax x 3 coats + Rotex buffing
Sketchup model available if interested
Festool sanders, TS55, Rotex, T-drill, Domino and various hand planes were used.

Bottom foot (below the bottom shelf) was a piece of Wenge 1 1/2 x 2" x 11" with chamfered corners. Anchored with two Dominos that are free floating in oversize mortises and one screw countersunk in the middle of each from the bottom.

The domino makes this kind of construction so easy. I used two pieces of 3/4 wood to properly align the domino joiner across the top and bottom pieces having taped the top and bottom back to back to 'align' for the domino placement given I was doing two per joint across the 10" span of the legs. I needed to make sure every tenon matched up properly. I was able to do this with no wide mortises - everything cut to fit with lots of measurement checking. And a little tapping with rubber mallet!