talkFestool  

Go Back   talkFestool > Projects, Methods, and Techniques > Woodworking Projects

Woodworking Projects Chairs to chests, boxes to breadboards? Stop in!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2011, 04:55 PM

Default Steel string guitar

I finished up my acoustic build last week. The body finish is French polish. The neck has an oil/varnish finish. This is my first project with the French polish finish and I really like it. It takes a lot of hand work but the end result is the best finish for an acoustic. The finish is very thin which doesn't dampen the sound. The headstock and fretboard design is cut from mother of pearl and snail shell. The body and sides are monkey pod. The top is sitka spruce. The neck is tiger maple. The fretboard and bridge are ebony. Now I need to practice my playing. My playing sounds like the blues without trying. I've had a few experts play it and happy to report it sounds really nice. The back pic is prior to finish. Monkey pod is similiar to koa but darker. My next one maybe koa. This coming weekend Tropical Hardwoods in Carlsbad is having a parking lot sale so I'm hoping to score some at a better price. Koa doesn't usually go on sale.
Attached Thumbnails
steel-string-guitar-1026small.jpg   steel-string-guitar-img_0895.jpg   steel-string-guitar-img_1027.jpg   steel-string-guitar-img_1028.jpg  

Last edited by trident98; 07-31-2011 at 04:58 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 07-31-2011, 05:02 PM
Founding Member

Default Re: Steel string guitar

Tim,

That is really beautiful work and the french polish is a great finish. How long from start to finish did this whole job take? Also, what made you go with steel as opposed to nylon strings?

Fred