talkFestool  

Go Back   talkFestool > Social Club (Off Topic) > Woodworkers Cafe

Woodworkers Cafe General Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-30-2008, 06:37 PM

Location: The northernmost end of the southernmost county of New York
Default Heros

Phil Hill died.

I didn't even know about him but he was the kind of guy I really admire.

Some others,
Nikola Tesla
Eddie Rickenbacker
Buckminster Fuller
Richard Feynman
Robert Rauschenberg

Got some?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 09-01-2008, 01:16 AM

Default Re: Heros

When I worked as a lineman my co-workers and I used to frequent a bar owned by a fellow of Italian descent. I mention his Italian heritage because it does tie in to the story I am about to tell.
The name of the bar was Vitale’s (excellent Italian cuisine) in Hometown PA. The hero of my story is Louie Vitale. After work we used to frequent Louie’s establishment for a few cold ones and the usual banter that followed the days work. Sometimes the teasing would get pretty hot and heavy and Louie would be in the thick of it.
We all knew the one sure way to get Louie to lose his temper was to start talking about the Mafia. Don’t get me wrong it was not a one way bashing, Louie used to put us “young punks” in our place on plenty of occasions. But we always parted company as friends.
Many times I had noticed several framed documents hanging at the far end of the bar that I could have easily read on my way to the Men’s Room. These frames peaked my curiosity but in my haste to quench my thirst I’d forget about them and by the time I went to the Men’s Room I’d totally forgotten about them.