talkFestool  

Go Back   talkFestool > Social Club (Off Topic) > Woodworkers Cafe

Woodworkers Cafe General Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2011, 08:38 AM

Default I've been through a few!

Bench top planers that is
because lack of space and usually lack of funds, I've endured bench top planers for my thicknessing needs...and if I never see another in my life I'll be happy
I'm a full time woodworker, I have my own small business making custom furniture, I usually go through one bench top planer each year. I know they aren't made for the amount of work I feed through them, I just hope the next one will last a bit longer.
Anyway, my most recent one ( steel city 40200H ) was the worst I've had so far, and gave up on me today. It's had less than a years work. In japan we don't have the luxury of a years warranty ( I think it's something shit like 3 months ).
I won't need to use a planer until next week, so I have the weekend to find another. I swore to myself not to go pick up another shite bench top planer so I'm going to be on the lookout for an old iron beast that's had a make over even if it's in my way in the woodshop, I don't care anymore
I've got a couple of ideas where I might find one...
To be continued rant over
P.S. The best bench top planer I've had is a Delta believe it or not, lasted about three years.. I tried to replace it with another, but they stopped selling it here.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 10-13-2011, 01:33 PM
Super Moderator

Default Re: I've been through a few!

I don't know about Japan, but here in the US Hammer is having some pretty good deals on jointer/planers. Fred seems to love his new one.

Sorry about your planer issues. Sounds very frustrating. Is the 3 month warranty so that the Japanese economy keeps on running?
Old 10-13-2011, 04:21 PM