talkFestool  

Go Back   talkFestool > Projects, Methods, and Techniques > Other Projects

Other Projects Metal work, car polishing, and other jobs where we use our tools.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-26-2013, 03:43 AM

Default Tools for concrete

In the workshop and around the home, I have quite a bit of concrete to put down.
With the workshop, I'm going to tackle it in sections as I'll be working alone and mixing the concrete myself. Last week I did a 2x2.5m section to get a feel for it (I've never done this before). I mixed the sand, gravel and cement by hand (about 700kg's worth), let me tell you it was a good workout in this heat and humidity, the shop was about 40degrees.. The hardware store I bought the materials from hires a mixer for $20 a day, but it was already out.
Anyway, tools.. I have a couple of floats, biggest being 400mm. I saw bull floats in the store, but they we're almost $200 each, so I thought I'd try make one from wood. It kind of worked but was too heavy, so I scrapped it and just used the 400mm float.
When I concrete for the next slab, I'm aware I need to separate it from the first slab by means of a narrow channel/groove, to allow for movement. Sorry, I don't know the terminology. I can't find a tool to do this anywhere, so am not exactly sure what I need and if it's possible to make one?
If any of you guys have any experience or links about the tools I need or any homemade versions, that would be handy
Cheers!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 08-26-2013, 07:27 AM

Default Re: Tools for concrete

I'm certainly no concreting expert, your 2x2.5 section means you've done more than me. What about concreting up to your existing slab, then cutting an expansion joint with your TS55 and rail with a concrete cutting blade?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 08-26-2013, 08:38 AM
Super Moderator