talkFestool  

Go Back   talkFestool > Woodworking Machinery and Tools > Hand Tools

Hand Tools Hand tools, clamps, measuring, and all that other stuff

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2010, 07:32 AM

Default Hand Saws

I am getting ready to buy my first couple of hand saws less a dovetail saw because I have one already. I am new to the hobby and want to start off with hand tools so I need a some recommendations on saws. I would also like to know if people prefer Japanese or Western saws. Thanks for the input.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 07-23-2010, 12:02 PM

Default Re: Hand Saws

Whoo Hooo, I'll give ya my thoughts, though this is a big subject.

I personally like the western style saw. I would like to say because I am more accurate on a push vs pull motion, but I find the saw easier to use and control due to the weight of the saw. My hands tend to shake just a bit and the light weight of the Japanese saws tend to cause me issues. I also just find the push motion more natural.

The above is 100% personal taste. On the flip side I prefer to use Japanese saws when doing trim and using soft wood like pine. No idea why other than it just feels right.

I ordered my saw from Mark over at Bad Axe: Bad Axe Tool Works - Services and Tools for the Discriminating Woodworker

There are many good brands around at that price point, Adria, Lie Nielsen, Gramercy, Wentzel and Sons(sp).. I have used the Lie Nielsen and Gramercy saws and liked then when I did try them. I have not used either enough to say that one is "better". I have not personally used an Andrew Lunn, but I have heard nothing but good things.

If you can, try out all of the saws before you spend your bucks. I found I like a saw more based on handle and weight than I did based on the kerf of the blade or the cut of the teeth.

Cheers
Old 07-23-2010, 04:46 PM