talkFestool  

Go Back   talkFestool > Projects, Methods, and Techniques > Finishing

Finishing How you make your work look great!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2009, 02:50 PM

Location: 41N 79W One of the Thirteen Original Colonies of the United States of America
Default Edge Joining Glue Up

Since I'm new in woodworking I'm not embarrased to ask basic questions. I have the Domino and want to use it for everything at this point. The problem particularly in edge joining when I coat the tenons with glue (I'll use Titebond III) and also coat the mating edges of the boards being joined, clamp the pieces together the glue oozes out and requires being wiped off of the finish surfaces. With other wood glues that I have used this seems to seal the grain prohibiting even staining or finishing of the surface. I haven't actually used the Titebond III product yet but I assume I'll get the same "sealing" effect that I have in the past with other wood glues. Is it a matter of sanding the finish surface enough to remove the sealed area? I can't imagine using so little glue on the edges that none would ooze out. Is there a better glue product for this purpose?

Thanks for your help.

Ron
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 03-14-2009, 03:14 PM
Perfect Little Angel

Default Re: Edge Joining Glue Up

This is a problem (as when gluing we all think the more the better). You want to minimize your squeeze out, and if it's something your staining rather than painting don't wipe. It's really hard not to but if just smears it over a larger area and pushes it deeper in the wood. You should let it dry for the most part and remove with a cabinet scraper or small block plane. Some glues have dye additives to where they are visible under black light so you can see if you've sanded/cleaned it all off prior to finishing.
Old 03-14-2009, 03:44 PM