talkFestool  

Go Back   talkFestool > Festool > Festool Tools

Festool Tools Discussions about Festool Tools and Accessories

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-29-2011, 10:02 AM

Default First Festool: What's the Minimum Workable Setup for a TS55?

I'm working towards buying a TS55 and I'm trying to figure out what I really need to make the system functional on a basic level. My primary concern is to be able to cut down sheet goods for making shelves, cabinets, tables, etc. Long term, the goal is basically a full table saw replacement and then expansion into the rest of the Festool system in order to have a semi-decent wood shop for general use that can pack away when it isn't being used. I'm a mechanic by trade, so that set of tools gets the priority for space. The woodworking tools have to come out to play and then go hide.

At the moment, I have on the "Absolutely have to have" list:

1) TS55 w/ included FS 1400/2 (does it come with a Systainer?)
2) FS 1900/2
3) Two Guide Rail Connectors

The "Would really help to make it more functional for more things" list is:
4) Two Quick Clamps to hold the rail to the work
5) Parallel Edge Guide for repetitive rips (the $55 one that rides on the saw, not the fancy setup that holds the guide rail)

Thoughts on what's really necessary?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 12-29-2011, 11:16 AM

Default Re: First Festool: What's the Minimum Workable Setup for a TS55?

Hi williaty. I would recommend you get a 3000 rail instead of the 1900. I used to join 2 rails for longer cuts, but found it a hassle. With a 3000 and a 1400 rail, there's always one on hand for long or short cuts.
The clamps are good, but I rarely use them now, because the rails grip so well.
I haven't used the Parallel Edge Guide, but repetitive cutting is quite easy with the rail, and I think it may produce a better cut than the edge guide.