talkFestool  

Go Back   talkFestool > Festool > Festool Tips and Techniques

Festool Tips and Techniques Tips on using your Festools

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2009, 09:42 AM

Default Make Your Own MFT Top

I know most of us has put some put some into making our own MFT top complete with holes. The holes are the big problem.

So how would you try to duplicate the holes of an MFT?

At first it sounds simple. A row here and row there. But the MFT holes have accuracy in both directions. So how do can we do the same without buying an expensive CNC router table?

I've been giving this a lot of thought for 2 months. I have a simple answer but I keep trying to make it more exact. But as I make it more exact it sort of defeats the template that you begin with. If I defeat the template then I don't need to follow it's pattern, I can follow Festools pattern.

So I give up! I think the answer is to show you the easy template and let you decide on the accuracy it can provide and/or how to improve on that accuracy.

So how about the template being ordinary "pegboard"? It has 1/4 inch holes on 1 inch centers. You align 1 corner of the pegboard to your workbench top. You come in 2 holes from each side and drill your first hole using a jig to hold the 20 mm drill bit straight. Then you go every 3rd hole and drill another hole.

The holes on pegboard are precisely drilled. The more precisely you align the pegboard to your top, the better accuracy of your holes to the sides of your table top. Carefully lowering a 20 mm drill bit onto a 1/4 inch hole you can accomplish tolerances of 5 thousandths inch. I know a router will plunge a straighter hole but I haven't seen a 20 mm plunge bit that is angled like a drill bit so you can align to the smaller pegboard hole.