talkFestool  

Go Back   talkFestool > Festool > Festool Reviews

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2009, 10:53 PM

Default ETS 125

I followed reviews of Festool and finally coughed up the money to purchase one. I have to say this is the worst random orbital sander I have ever had.

This machine left horrible swirl patterns that show up only after the first coat of finish is applied. Thinking it must be the media, I tried new (Festool of course) and no difference. Technique? Tried everything I know to do, and I've been doing this for 30 years.

I've had a number of 5" RAS's from Porter Cable, Bosch, etc. All substantially less money, and all performed significantly better. They don't last as long as Festool is rumored to, but I'll take them any day over Festool.

I sent the thing back to Festool with a letter and hope never to see it again.

Sorry Festool, I'll not try your products again.

Dave
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 02-03-2009, 11:01 PM

Default Re: ETS 125

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMiller View Post
I followed reviews of Festool and finally coughed up the money to purchase one. I have to say this is the worst random orbital sander I have ever had.

This machine left horrible swirl patterns that show up only after the first coat of finish is applied. Thinking it must be the media, I tried new (Festool of course) and no difference. Technique? Tried everything I know to do, and I've been doing this for 30 years.

I've had a number of 5" RAS's from Porter Cable, Bosch, etc. All substantially less money, and all performed significantly better. They don't last as long as Festool is rumored to, but I'll take them any day over Festool.

I sent the thing back to Festool with a letter and hope never to see it again.

Sorry Festool, I'll not try your products again.

Dave
Welcome to the forum and I'm sorry to hear that!